In 1946 and 1947 William Sansom was awarded two literary prizes by the Society of Authors, and in 1951 was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. 
Hodder & Staughton Bursary
William Sansom was one of eight young authors who won a Hodder & Staughton and Society of Authors bursary award in 1946. The bursaries were intended to assist young writers in their literary endeavours in the immediate aftermath of the war. 
The judging panel: 
Sir Osbert Sitwell (Chairman)
Rebecca West
Cecil Day Lewis
David Cecil
Leonard Cutts
Frank Debenham
D. Kilham Roberts
Dilys Powell